I live so far deeply inside of my head …

I was so relieved to read someone else felt this way and did these things, it brought tears to my eyes:

“I live so far deeply inside of my head that if the phone rings- it feels terrifying and presumptuous and aggressive and rude to me. Every time my phone rings it is as if  I am naked in a hot bath, deep in prayer and silence and somebody just flings open the bathroom door, walks right in, jumps into the tub with me, grabs my soap and shrilly announces: HELLO. I’D LIKE TO TALK NOW. HOPE THAT’S FINE. And I’m like . . . hi. okay. but I’m busy thinking and being all by myself. You have stunned me. You are loud and scary. 

And just forget about it if someone knocks on my door. That is just- I can’t. Nine times out of ten – if someone knocks on my door I actually HIDE. Like in my closet. Truth.  It’s such an insane boundary violation-  door knocking. Oh, my God.”

– Glennon Doyle Melton

Yes! Yes! Yes! to the entire post. Read more at: Somebody Help Me Figure Out How To Be a Good Friend to Myself AND to Others (monastery.com)

One thought on “I live so far deeply inside of my head …

Leave a Reply

