Becoming Unbusy

“‘Busy’ has become the new ‘Fine’.” As in, when you ask somebody how they were doing, they used to answer, “Fine.” But nowadays, everybody answers, “Busy.”

(As quoted in the article “A Helpful Guide to Becoming Unbusy” by Joshua Becker.)

It’s surprisingly difficult to resist busyness. I find myself fighting to keep life as simple as possible. But it really is a battle. There are so many things to feel guilty about not getting to – piles of papers to file, retirement account investments that haven’t been looked at in years, even the unfinished baby book that sits on a shelf. And on top of that, there’s the expectation that as a stay-at-home mom, I have plenty of time to run errands for friends. So I even get to feel guilty for not helping out friends when I resist their requests.

There are some great tips on this list, like scheduling rest and learning to say no. But today I particularly needed to be reminded to revisit my priorities and the advantages of owning fewer possessions. With the onset of summer weather, I have started longing for easy access to a swimming pool – preferably one that requires nothing more than taking a few steps from my back door. But the expense is something that we can’t afford and the maintenance requires time and energy that I don’t have. So I’m glad that I stumbled upon this article and it brought me back to my senses. Though, I do foresee the purchase of an inexpensive kiddie pool in my future.

Leave a Reply

